visit the Medical Schools Council website  return to the the home page
School Profile 
Oxford (University of), Medical Sciences Division
Address Medical Sciences Office
John Radcliffe Hospital
Headington, Oxford
Postal Code OX3 9DU

The Medical Sciences Division is one of the four divisions of the University of Oxford and includes the clinical and preclinical departments of the Medical School, plus the Departments of Experimental Psychology and Biochemistry. The division is one of the major centres for clinical and basic biomedical research in Europe, with more than 2,500 staff on the payroll and 900 postgraduate students. It includes several research Institutes and Units housed in modern buildings. The Division fosters the highest possible standards in research, teaching and patient care. Oxford's traditional strength in the basic sciences and its more recent dramatic expansion in clinical medicine provide it with a particular platform to focus on experimental medicine. In parallel with this the division maintains and develops its world-leading research across the full range of scientific endeavour, from the molecule to the population. Another aspect of Oxford biomedicine which is of major significance is our global health programme. This is not only an outstanding example of experimental medicine, but also by its very nature provides enormous international profile. Finally the division encourages vigorous commercial exploitation of research, expanding, for example on its successful record in the creation of spin-out companies.

© 2008 Medical Schools Council, all rights reserved.

By using this website you agree to abide by its Terms and Conditions

For further information or queries about the Clinical Academic Jobs website, please contact the Medical Schools Council.
For further information or queries relating to specific job adverts, please contact the individual Medical School directly.

For more information about a career in clinical academia visit